Basic Pancakes

My grinder has been acting cranky lately. It’s been three weeks since the technician said he’ll come home in 5 minutes to fix it. Poor guy hasn’t arrived yet and here I am totally missing my tupperware container full of idly/dosa batter that I can always rely on when I am not in a mood for elaborate cooking!
Today is one of those days I’m just not in a mood for cutting and cooking. I didn’t want to bore my little girl with the stereo oats or ragi porridge. Just when I was racking my brain on what to do, a sudden thought occurred to me – why not try pancakes?
Thanks to Martha aunty for her quick and easy peasy recipe!
Ingredients
  • 1 cup maida
  • 2 tbsp icing sugar
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tbsp refined oil
  • 1 cup milk
Method
  • In a bowl, whisk together maida, icing sugar, baking soda and salt.
  • In another bowl, whisk the egg, oil and milk.
  • Pour the wet ingredients over the dry ingredients. Gently fold the batter.
  • Heat a non-stick dosa pan and pour one spoonful batter. Keep the flame medium.
  • Wait until the surface of the pancake has bubbles and the corners are cooked. Carefully turn it over. Allow the surface to cook for a couple of minutes and remove from the pan.
  • Serve with any topping of your choice (honey/whipped cream/strawberries/jam/etc)
Leave a Reply

