Pepper Paneer Masala

On most days, even as I wake up, I plan what to cook for the day. But there are times, I waste time just contemplating what to cook. Today was one such evening. I had no idea what to cook and absolutely no motivation to get myself to cook. I was aimlessly scrolling my facebook page up and down and all of a sudden, a picture of a spicy dish caught my attention!
Nags, one of my favorite food and photography blogger, had just posted a picture of a guest post. It was Pepper Paneer Masala. As usual, I instantly started drooling over the picture and decided that it’s going to accompany my rotis tonight!
Half way through my preparation I discovered I had ran out of ginger garlic paste. By now I had dreamed of this dish and had come too far to give up. I boldly decided to proceed with my fingers crossed. To my pleasant surprise, it tasted just superb. I never felt the absence of ginger and garlic. I’m so in love with this that I can’t wait to try out the same with chicken!
Ingredients
  • 200 gms paneer cubes
  • 3 large onions chopped
  • 3 green chillies slit in half
  • 1.5 tsp ginger garlic paste
  • 1 1/2 tsp ground black pepper
  • 1/4 tsp turmeric powder
  • 1 tsp soya sauce
  • 2 tsp tomato ketchup
  • A few curry leaves
  • Salt to taste
For Dry Roasting & Grinding
  • 5 cloves
  • 4 cardamom
  • 1 star anise
  • 1 medium cinnamon stick
  • 1 tsp saunf
Method
  • Soak the frozen paneer in hot water for half an hour.
  • Dry roast the ingredients listed above, grind it into a fine powder and set aside.
  • In a frying pan, heat 2 tbsp oil, add onions, green chillies and saute until onions turn golden brown. Add ginger garlic paste and continue sauteing until it losses it raw smell.
  • Now add, the ground powder, turmeric powder, pepper and curry leaves. Saute for a couple of minutes.
  • Pour the soya sauce and tomato ketchup. Mix well.
  • Add half a cup of water, salt, paneer cubes and give a good mix. Cover it with a lid and allow the paneer to cook in the masala occasionally giving it a mix.
  • Continue doing so until all the water evaporates and the gravy thickens.
  • Serve hot with rotis or ghee rice/veg pulao.
Adapted From – Cooking and Me
Leave a Reply

