Coconut Rice with Capsicum and Carrot

I basically love all vegetables… except capsicum. So I always avoid any dish that contains it. However, recently we went to one of our friend’s house for dinner and she served us capsicum coconut rice. It tasted so good that I instantly fell in love with it.

Later I came to know that capsicums are rich in vitamin C and a source of dietry fibre and many other vitamins and minerals. As I am now on a mission to introduce as many vegetables as possible to my little girl, I decided capsicum is going to be a part of our meal as frequently as possible.

Though I didn’t not get the recipe for this coconut rice from my friend, I used my instincts and put it together. The capsicum gives the otherwise ordinary coconut a lovely twist. And what made me really happy was that my little girl totally enjoyed it!

Ingredients
  • 1.5 cups basmati rice (soaked in water for 30mins)
  • 1/2 cup coconut chopped small and ground into fine paste
  • 1 capsicum chopped finely
  • 2 carrots chopped finely
  • 1 medium onion chopped
  • 1 tbsp ginger garlic paste
  • 1 star anise 
  • 2 cardamom 
  • 2 cloves
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 2 inch cinnamon stick
  • 1/2 tbsp saajeera
  • Salt to taste
  • 3 cups water
  • 2 tbsp oil
  • 1 tbsp ghee
Method
  • Pour the oil and ghee in the pressure cook, once medium hot, add the spices (star anise, cardamom, cloves, bay leaf, cinnamon stick and saajeera). 
  • As the spices begin to crackle, add the onions, capsicum and carrots. Saute until the onions turn light brown and add the ginger garlic paste.
  • Once the ginger garlic paste looses its raw smell, add the coconut paste. Saute for a minute or two and add the rice.
  • Pour water, add salt, give a stir and place the cooker lid. Pressure cook for 3 whistles. 
One thought on “Coconut Rice with Capsicum and Carrot

Leave a Reply

