Homemade French Fries – My Way!

The very first time I ate french fries was on my maiden foreign vacation to Germany in 1988. I was just 6 years old. I do not remember much of what I saw or ate, except for very few faint memories. But one event still stands out. It was a welcome party that our hosts threw us. We were the first Indian family to visit that tiny village of Machtolsheim. The entire village gathered, even the local newspaper was there to interview my parents and we were served some delicious German food. However the only thing I remember of that party is eating french fries for the very first time! Trust me, it was love at first sight!


Recently, I discovered this very easy method of preparing french fries by myself. It did turn out pretty tasty and my nephew who visited us last weekend told me he really enjoyed it! Here’s how you could make some for your kids!


Ingredients

  • 3 large potatoes, cut in half
  • Oil for deep frying
  • Salt
Method
  • Pressure cook the potatoes for 2 to 3 whistles. Once the pressure escapes, drain the water and allow the potatoes to cool down. (Since you pressure cook the potatoes, it consumes less oil and fries fast!)
  • Gently peel the skin and cut the potatoes into stripes.
  • Deep fry in oil until golden brown.
  • Sprinkle salt and pepper/chilly powder/chaat masala and serve hot with tomato ketchup.
3 thoughts on “Homemade French Fries – My Way!

Leave a Reply

