Ulutham Paruppu Milagai Idly Podi

Hello everyone! Mj’s kitchen finally reopens after a long vacay! I hope and trust all is well with each of you!

Over the last month, I have picked up some recipes and tips from the friends and families I visited in Tamil Nadu and I can’t wait to share them all with you!

Let me start with something easy thoosi 😉

Ulutham Paruppu Milagai Idly Podi is a super fast and super tasty podi that tastes amazing with hot and soft idlies or dosas!

Ingredients

  • 1 cup Ulutham Paruppu/Urad Daal
  • 3 dry red chillies
  • 1/4 tpsp Asafoetida powder
  • Salt to taste

Method

  • Dry roast the Ulutham Paruppu and chillies in a pan on low flame until it turns medium brown. (Note – make sure you don’t under-roast it or burn it!)
  • Transfer it into a plate, allow it to cool down and powder it in a mixie along with the required amount of salt and asafoetida.
  • Pour gingelly oil and serve with hot idlies!

Leave a comment