Mushroom Theeyal

My love for mushrooms began only after marriage. Growing up in a small town in Tamil Nadu, mushrooms were not available in our markets. So when I came to Hyderabad, I was really happy to see button mushrooms available in almost all the stores.

There’s something special about mushrooms that sets it apart from all the other vegetables. Its soft and gives you the satisfaction of having had non-vegetarian dish.

I usually add mushrooms to a normal potato fry (trust me, it tastes SUPERB!). Other times, I just add it along with the usual vegetables while making a vegetable kurma. Last week, I wanted to try out something new. Something different from the ordinary. Something mal!

One of the malayalee food blogs I really enjoy going through is Simply Spicy. It has a collection of some really amazing mallu recipes. I just drool over the pictures in this blog. You can imagine how yummy each must taste. It is there I found this recipe. The blend of roasted spices and coconut milk makes this dish absolutely mouth watering. Click here for the recipe!

Mushroom Theeyal tastes best with rice, idlies, dosas, chapathis and idiyapam!

Leave a Reply

