Kerala Style Coriander Chicken Curry

I had bought some chicken and was in a mood to cook something different, but easy and quick. Just then, I saw a Facebook update from Maria Chechi and I knew she’ll certainly have a recipe for me! I landed at the right place and that’s where I found her recipe for the Coriander Chicken Curry!

Quite a few times I have prepared Chicken in a very similar method. But there was something very different and nice about this one. The aroma lingered in my house for nearly an hour and I just couldn’t stop sniffing!
I slightly tweaked Chechi’s recipe and pressure cooked the chicken for my convenience as I was running out of time to pack lunch for DH and just before I could make the tomato-coriander paste, the power went off! So here’s how I did it –
Ingredients

For the Marinade –
  • 750 gms Chicken, cut into medium pieces
  • 2 tbs Curd
  • 1.5 tbs Ginger Garlic Paste
  • 1/2 tsp Turmeric Powder
  • 1 tsp Salt
For Cooking –
  • Adequate Coconut Oil (Any oil is fine. But for the best taste and aroma, go with coconut oil!)
  • 1 Bay Leaf
  • 2 Inch Cinnamon Stick
  • 3 Cardamom
  • 3 Cloves
  • 1 tsp Cumin Seeds
  • 1 tsp Saunf
  • 1 tbs Ginger Garlic Paste
  • 2 Large Onions finely chopped
  • A Handful of Curry Leaves
  • 1 Cup of Finely Chopped Coriander Leaves
  • 1 Large Tomato
  • 1 tsp Black Pepper Powder
  • 2 tbs Coriander Powder
  • 1/2 tsp Red Chilly Powder
  • 1.5 Cup Water
  • Salt to taste
Method
  • Marinate the chicken with the listed ingredients for 2 Hrs in the refrigerator.
  • Pour the coconut oil in the pressure cooker and once its medium hot add the bay leaf, cinnamon stick, cardamoms, cloves, cumin seeds and saunf. Allow the spices to crackle.
  • Now add the onions and black pepper powder. Saute it until slight golden brown and to it add the ginger garlic paste. 
  • Wait for the ginger garlic paste to get cooked and then add the tomatoes and chopped coriander leaves. Saute it until the tomatoes get cooked and the oil surfaces to the top.
  • To this add the curry leaves, red chilly powder, coriander powder and salt. Saute for 2 mins.
  • Add the chicken. Pour the water. Pressure cook for 5 whistles.
Serving Suggestion
This tastes yum with rice and chapathis. I usually cook chicken for two meals. I have it first with rice for lunch. And the next morning, I add 1 cup of coconut milk to the chicken curry, cook it in medium heat for 5 minutes and enjoy it with either idly, dosa or a bread toast!
Leave a Reply

