Pound Cake With Almonds & Cashews


I’ve been spending the whole of last much pretty much indoors due to DH’s heroic fall. Though each day has its own set of chores to keep me busy along with an active 9 month old that constantly needs my attention, I’ve been feeling really bored lately. Hence baking -my new found hobby!

Today was my first experiment with Pound Cake! I picked this recipe from the site ‘Joy of Baking’. Since the picture of the cake on the site looked a too plain, I wanted to be a little creative and added some chopped almonds and cashews. I left my electric mixer behind and I had to mix the batter with an ordinary kitchen spoon. So my heart was literally pounding as I placed the batter inside the oven wondering how it was going to turn out. Thankfully, after keeping my fingers crossed for 40 mins, I was in for a pleasant surprise!

Ingredients

  • 3 large eggs, room temperature
  • 3 tablespoons milk, room temperature
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla essence
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour (maida), keep a little extra to dust the pan
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon cooking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cup granulated white sugar
  • 13 teaspoons unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1 cup of chopped almonds and cashews

Method

  • Preheat the oven to 180 C for 10 minutes
  • Grease the baking pan with butter and dust it with flour
  • In a medium bowl lightly combine the eggs, milk and vanilla extract
  • In a large bowl combine the dry ingredients – flour, baking powder, cooking soda, salt and sugar. Mix until the ingredients blend well.
  • Add the butter and half of the egg mixture. Mix on low speed until the dry ingredients are moistened. Increase the mixer speed to medium and beat for about a minute to aerate and develop the cake’s structure. Gradually add the remaining egg mixture in 2 additions, beating about 30 seconds after each addition.
  • Add 1/2 a cup of chopped nuts to the batter and mix well
  • Transfer the batter to the baking pan and sprinkle the remaining cup of nuts on top of the batter
  • Place the pan inside the oven and bake for 40 mins
Leave a Reply

