Chocolate Banana Cake with Walnuts


It was back in my college days that I had the chance to taste my very first banana cake. Each time my friend made a trip to Chennai, her mom used to send us Banana cakes from the Primas Bakery in Egmore (Or is it Adyar Bakery, Priya?). I don’t remember having it too often. But, somehow, the few times I had it, I sort of fell in love with it!
Years later, when I was working in Chennai, each time I had to board my train from Egmore station, I used to buy a box of banana cakes to take home without fail. However by the time I reach home the next morning, the box would be half empty 😉
Today is a special day for our family. It is the homecoming of my sweet little nephew who was born last week. Like my baby girl, even he is a miracle child. Hence, in order to celebrate the arrival of this precious one, I have prepared a simple, yet special dinner. And guess what the dessert is? Chocolate Banana Cake with Walnuts 😀
My special thanks to Joy of Baking for sharing the recipe of my all time favorite cake. Trust me, it is unbelievably simple to make and you do not even need an electric mixer. Just the right ingredients in the right proportion and two bowls for mixing.. And I got this 😀

Ingredients
  • 2 cups granulated white sugar
  • 1 3/4 cups maida
  • 3/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons cooking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 large eggs, room temperature
  • 1 cup mashed ripe bananas
  • 1 cup warm water
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/2 vegetable oil
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla essence
  • 1 cup of chopped walnuts
  • A small amount of unsalted butter to grease your baking pan
Method
  • Prepare your baking pan by greasing it with butter and then sprinkle some maida over it
  • Pre-heat the oven to 180C for 10 mins
  • In the meantime, mix all the dry ingredients (maida, sugar, baking power, cooking soda and salt) in a large bowl
  • In a medium sized bowl, whisk together the eggs and add the mashed bananas, water, milk, oil and the vanilla essence
  • Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and stir until combined
  • Once combined, add the chopped walnuts
  • Pour the batter into your pan and keep in the oven for 30 mins.
  • Once the cake’s out of the oven, let it cool for atleast 30 mins. The cake is very very soft and if you are in a hurry (like how I was when I did it the first time), your cake will become a chocolate ‘crumble’ cake 😉
Note- Mine baked in 20 mins. So keep an eye on the cake. Also, if you see/smell the top portion of the cake being burnt, cover the pan with an aluminum foil!

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Banana Cake with Walnuts

  1. Was just wondering this morning seeing those ripe banana's at home…..on what different dish could I try with those !!!! hhhooyyeeaaahhh….I am gonna really give a wild try of the cake recipe above :o))Thanks Michelle !

Leave a Reply

